Phone Number not pulled correctly ... and other stuff

Jun 19, 2009 at 5:39 AM

Hey!

First of all .. i'm completely new to aspx, to iis, to c# and to mssql ..

it seems that there is some major issue with the phone number pulling. everytime fillPhone() is called, an exception is beeing thrown, thats caught by this empty catch {} statement you made.... maybe i'm finding out the problem. 

another problem is, that the if clause, that actually retrieves the telephonenumber attribute (if (count > 0)), is never  run. Following the settings you provide, the code is run in the asp net user context (IUSR). Thats why allowedAttributesEffective returns a count of 0 attributes for the retrieved user. These are the attributes that can be modified by the calling user ...  HostingEnvironment.Impersonate() does not do anything by the way. The way to go is by putting the following into the web.config file.

<system.web>
    <authentication mode="Windows"/>
    <identity impersonate="true"/>
 </system.web>

see http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms998358.aspx

This runs the web application the whole time in the name of the user, thats logs on through windows authentication. Further the database requests (when not specifying a sql user in the connection string) are also made through this username. the only problem here is to setup delegated trust between the machines (i haven't got this running by now). I got rid of that HostingEnvironment stuff and off you go. There is only this problem with the Exception..... i don't know where to start.

Why are you retrieving allowedAttributesEffective anyway? as i see it, we don't want to modify the ad contents? Shouldn't this be 'allowAttributes'?

Some questions:

Wouldn't it be nice if there is no phone number stored in the mssql database?