Help setting up permissions

Feb 24, 2009 at 8:57 PM
Hello.

I'm completely new to databases, so please bear with me.

I'm having two problems setting up Slickticket. I'm logged onto a W2003 Server test machine as a domain administrator. This is the account I've created the database SlickTicket with, as well as configured the IIS website.

1. The setup screen indicates that setup must be run by an account with rights to read the setup/setup_Data folder. I'm running the setup as an administrator. I've checked NTFS security on the website folder and both administrator and the IIS Guest account have read access to the entire folder. However when I click Setup a webpage error comes up regarding denied access to the setup_data\styles.xml file. Only when I grant Everyone full control of the folder does the setup process continue.

2. When I grant Everyone access to the slickticket website folder the setup kind of continues, but really only spits out a different permissions error, this time by the code of the site itself. It's a long one, but the heart of the matter is in the first line or two as follows below. Since I'm doing all of this as the administrator, and the SQL database is using Windows Authentication, I was hoping I wouldn't have to change the connection string in web.config as I'd rather not have a user/password combo in plan text. Again, the is the very first SQL database I've setup/work on, and although I've searched The Google extensively I have yet to find a post to move me on my way. These seem like pretty basic things so I feel like an idiot to be asking, but I've exhausted my limited resources. Help!